In 1848 government surveyor Septimus Roe, was searching for pastoral land and discovered an area which he named Dundas Hills (after the colonial secretary). In 1893 gold was discovered and with the Dundas Field the town of Dundas was established.
In the 1890s Coolgardie prospector Laurie Sinclair was visiting his brother George who was prospecting in the Dundas area. Sinclair tethered his horse to a tree for the night and the next morning he noticed that the horse's digging had uncovered a piece of gold. The area was named after his clever horse, 'The Hardy Norseman'. The gold reef was registered on 14 August 1894, as news of the find spread the site kept growing and the town of Norseman was officially registered in 1895.
Early life in the town was difficult due to the isolation and water shortages, but in 1936 the water problem was finally alleviated with the extension of the CY O'Connor Goldfields pipeline to Norseman.
Gold is still being mined in the area - the Central Norseman Gold Corporation has the distinction of being Australia's longest continuously run gold operation.
Norseman is the last (or the first) town for travellers on the Eyre Highway, at the junction of Highway 1 and 94. Norseman's unique position has been good for tourism, many people visit the area to admire the natural beauty of sites such as Mt Jimberlana, Peak Charles, Buldania Rocks and Dundas Rocks.